Nagaraja Temple




Nagaraja Temple is a Hindu temple worshipping Nagaraja (King of Serpents- Vasuki) situated at the heart of Nagercoil town. The name for the town Nagercoil originated from this temple. The temple has innumerable statues of serpents.
The temple has two main deities, Krishna (reverred as Ananda Krishna) and Nagaraja. The upadevathas are Shiva, Subrahmanya Swami, Ganesha, Devi and Dwarapalaka. As ancient tradition the priests are Namboothiri Brahmins who are referred by Pambumekkat mana in Thrissur, Kerala. The temple has a vast pond. Devotees offer milk and turmeric powder as a part of their prayers to the Nagas in the temple. The temple is open from 4.00 a.m. to 11.30 a.m. and from 5.00 p.m. to 8.30 p.m
Nagas are children of Kashyapa and Kadru. Among the prominent Nagas of Hinduism are Manasa, Sesha, and Vasuki.
The Nairs of Kerala are clans which are believed to have originated from the serpent dynasty.

Legends says that the nagas also carry the elixir of life and immortality. Garuda once brought it to them and put a cup with elixir on the ground but it was taken away by Indra. However, a few drops remained on the grass. The nagas licked up the drops, but in doing so, cut their tongues on the grass, and since then their tongues have been forked.

Nagas are snakes that may take human form. They tend to be very curious. According to traditions, Nagas are only malevolent to humans when they have been mistreated. They are susceptible to mankind’s disrespectful actions in relation to the environment. They are also associated with waters — rivers, lakes, seas, and wells — and are generally regarded as guardians of treasure.

They are objects of great reverence in some parts of southern India where it is believed that they bring fertility and prosperity to their veneration. Expensive and grand rituals like Nagamandala are conducted by Tuluva’s in their honor (see Nagaradhane).

  • The prominent of nagas in the Puranas are.
  • Vasuki or Naga raja, The King of the Nagas.
  • Ananda or Aadi Sesha, The serpent on whom Vishnu does yoga nidra(Ananda shayana).
  • Karkotaka, controls weather.
  • Padmavati, the Nagi queen and companion of Dharanendra.
  • Paravataksha, his sword causes earthquakes and whose roar causes thunder.
  • Takshaka, tribal king of the Nagas, whose kingdom was called as Takshashila.
  • Ulupi, a companion of Arjuna in the epic Mahabharata.
  • Manasa, the Hindu goddess of Nagas; the curer of snake-bites and the sister of Vasuki.
  • Kaliya, a snake punished by Krishna in Yamuna river.
  • Matali, charioteer of Indra; Matali was also the charioteer of Rama during the Lanka Battle.

The eight revered nagas are referred as ashta nagas they are Shesha, Vasuki, Takshaka, Karkotaka, Shankhapala, Gulika, Padma and Mahapadma. It is said about the colors of nagas that Vasuki is pearl white, Takshaka is red, Karkodaka is black with 3 white stripes in his hood, Padma is pink as lotus with white streak and coral ornaments, Mahapadma is white with trident mark in head, Shankhapala is yellow with white streak in hood, Gulika is red with crescent mark in hood.
It is difficult to ascertain the exact age of the temple. There is no authentic epigraph to aid the historian with its chronology. The mountain Mahendragiri in the Kanyakumari district is referred to as the abode of Nagas in the Ramayana of Valmiki. From this, it can be presumed that the origin of Naga influence in the area goes back to legendary times.

From the five headed-serpent deity of the temple, the name of this town Nagercoil is derived; gradually its old name, Kottar, has mostly faded. There is a part of town called Kottar, so the old name remains.

Rate and write a review